iRave: NYX Dewy Finish Long Lasting Setting spray (Review)

Let me start by saying  – THIS. PRODUCT. IS. AMAZING! I could stop this review right here…but I won’t.

I’m not evil…(anymore).

I bought this yesterday at a store in my estate. I’d seen it at Gifty’s Daughter for N4500 and then saw it again that same day for N1000 less so I grabbed it and it was the last one.

NYX Dewy Finish Setting Spray

NYX Dewy Finish Setting Spray

There’s a Matte Finish one too but I have Combination Dry skin so I detest matte makeup (excluding lipstick of course).

What NYX says about it:

“Prevail the sultry weather wearing NYX Dewy Finish Makeup Setting Spray. Long lasting formula grants a dewy finish. Spray away and manage your makeup to last all day and night. Hold 8-10 inches from face, close eyes, and spray in downward motion 3 times to cover entire face. Let dry.”

I tested this out today to see if all three claims (dewy finish, long wear and makeup setting) were true so I applied my makeup as usual with my dewy finish foundation (MAC Studio Sculpt) mixed in with a tiny pea-sized amount of the NYX liquid illuminator in ‘Gleam’.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

For my eye makeup, I used a palette I got yesterday as well, the Wet n’ Wild Coloricon Palette in ‘Comfort Zone’; I lined the look with my Wet n’ Wild gel liner and mascara’d up with my lengthening fibre mascara by Tara Orekelewa (Nigerian brand).

For the lips I used MAC’s Riri Woo and highlighted the inner bottom part with a dab of Tara Orekelewa’s the Sleek S (Nigerian franchise) Flash-a-Pout matte lipstain in ‘Revolution’. And then to top it all off, I sprayed three spritzes of the item in review on the left, right and centre of my face and was off to work.

km jk

Hehe! #modelshii

One thing to note about the spritzer though, is it kinda spritzes out harshly; like it’s not a soft spray like Fix+ and it doesn’t spread all over your face in one spray which is why three sprays are recommended.

At the 6 hour mark, we were still going strong.

Fish, ma'am? Grilled or Broiled

Fish, ma’am? Grilled or Broiled?

...lipstick was starting to fade though

…lipstick was starting to fade though

Normally, by this time, I would have lost some of the glow but today, it still looks ‘just-applied’ six hours after. I see no effect on the lipstick though as this is the exact same way my matte lipsticks progress throughout the day. Maybe I should have used a less long lasting lippie?

And now we have the grand finale…

drth

The black individual you see in the corner is my friend/colleague, Nanpon. He is very very annoying!

– 12 hours after, this is what we have still = Long wear claim *check*

– Face is still glowy and fresh-looking = Dewy finish claim *check*

– Eyebrows and eyeshadow are still intact = Makeup setting claim *check*

gvyhu

Eyeliner didn’t do too badly either

I love how this worked on me and I believe the matte one works the same too; I’ve never really bothered to read reviews on that one, though so I’m only going by my experience with ‘her sister’. Therefore, do not take my word for it.

In all, I’d say it was a pretty good buy. (Hey, I just got an idea for a category: ‘Good Buy or Goodbye’. 😀 I know, i know, my brain is awesome!)

I’ll give this an 8 simply because I’d hoped it’d be more of a spray than a spritz; plus, the bottle could be bigger.

Have you used or do you use the NYX Dewy and Matte Finish Long Lasting Makeup Setting Sprays? What did/do you think of ’em? Lemme know; comment below.

Be Luxe. Be Lovely. Be Vain. No Apologies. 😉

PS: I need a better camera, I know. I’m working on it.

Thoughts?

